You are here

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

The VLCT Board of Directors created five legislative policy committees to develop recommendations for a legislative platform in each policy area in the ensuing session. Committee members meet with secretaries and commissioners of agencies from time to time to discuss strategy and the implementation of laws. VLCT Advocacy staff also rely upon committee members for advice and expertise on specific issues during the legislative session.

Each summer, these committees meet to draft their recommendations. The VLCT Board of Directors then reviews, amends as needed, and approves the recommendations. The entire draft municipal policy is then sent to the VLCT membership, who votes on it at the VLCT Annual Meeting in October. Members may propose further amendments to the draft policy in writing prior to the meeting or on the floor at the meeting. Each member city or town has one vote at the annual or special meeting. Upon member approval of the policy by majority vote of those present, the Board, at its next meeting, establishes municipal policy priorities from among the many adopted policy issues. Those priorities provide the focus for Advocacy staff and the Board going forward.

The Water Resources Policy Committee is responsible for: water quality and wastewater management matters; implementation of the federal and state Clean Water Acts; stormwater management; integrated planning for water quality; total maximum daily loads and basin planning

2021-2022 Water Quality Committee

  • Bill Fraser, City Manager, Montpelier, Chair
  • Jeff Wennberg, Public Works Commissioner, Rutland City, Vice Chair
  • Russell Hodgkins, Town Manager, Westminister
  • Jim Jutras, Water Quality Superintendent, Essex Junction
  • Megan Moir, Public Works Assistant Director, Burlington
  • Chip Sawyer, Planning Director, St. Albans City
  • Harry Shepard, Public Works Director, Stowe

Each committee includes VLCT President Miro Weinberger and VLCT Executive Director Maura Carroll as ex officio members.

Latest Related News