You are here

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

The State of Vermont has received a federal disaster for Severe Storms and Flooding during the incident period of June 29 to July 1, 2017 (DR4330). If your town falls within one of the declared counties (Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Orange, Rutland, Washington, and Windsor), your town could be eligible for federal funding if it sustained damages as a result of this storm. Towns have 30 days from August 16 to submit a request for public assistance to the state. This form will be available at four upcoming applicant briefings:

  • Thursday, Aug. 24, 10:30 am, NVDA office, 36 Eastern Ave. Suite 1, St. Johnsbury
  • Friday, Aug. 25, 10:30 am, VTrans District 4 office, 221 Beswick Drive, White River Junction
  • Tuesday, Aug. 29, 10:00 am, Emergency Operations Center, 45 State Drive, Waterbury
  • Wednesday, Aug. 30, 10:30 am, VTrans District 3, 61 Valley View Drive (off Route 4), Mendon

Along with this disaster, all areas in the state are eligible for assistance under the State Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. Please contact Hazard Mitigation Officer for more information.

The Public Assistance program is a reimbursement program of 75% federal share. The program offers assistance to State, and local governments for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster damaged facilities, under one of the following categories:

  1. Debris removal
  2. Emergency protective measures
  3. Roads and bridges
  4. Water control facilities
  5. Buildings and equipment
  6. Utilities

Please read the attachments below for more information.