You are here

The following list of State of Vermont offices, federal government, and municipal organizations, and others is a good place to start if you’re looking for help on a specific topic or issue beyond what VLCT can provide. VLCT staff work directly with many of these and direct our members to them when needed. While this list isn’t comprehensive, it includes contact information for offices we’re frequently asked about. Note that many of the web pages below highlight coronavirus information.

Vermont's Executive, Legislative, and Judicial Branches

Office of Governor Phil Scott  governor.vermont.gov

Vermont General Assembly, State Legislature  legislature.vermont.gov

Vermont Statutes Online  legislature.vermont.gov/statutes

Find a Legislator  legislature.vermont.gov/people

Vermont Judiciary  vermontjudiciary.org

Vermont Judiciary Environmental Division  vermontjudiciary.org/environmental 

Vermont Judiciary Judicial Bureau  vermontjudiciary.org/judicial-bureau 

 

Agencies and Organizations – by topic

Community and Economic Development

Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development (ACCD) accd.vermont.gov

ACCD Funding and Incentives  accd.vermont.gov/about-us/funding-incentives

Regional Development Corporations  accd.vermont.gov/economic-development/resources/rdc

Vermont Council on Rural Development  vtrural.org/home

Elections

Vermont Secretary of State, Elections Division  sos.vermont.gov/elections  (William Senning, Director, 802-828-2363 or will.senning@vermont.gov)

Environment, Natural Resources, Planning

Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets, Land Use and Renewable Energy  agriculture.vermont.gov/land-use-renewable-energy-0

Vermont Agency of Natural Resources  anr.vermont.gov  (802-828-1294 or ANR.INFO@vermont.gov)

Department of Environmental Conservation  anr.vermont.gov/environmental-conservation

Regional Planning Commissions  vapda.org

Vermont Planning Information Center  vpic.info

Vermont Public Utility Commission  puc.vermont.gov 

Finance and Tax

Vermont Department of Taxes, Division of Property Valuation and Review tax.vermont.gov/municipal-officials (802-828-5860; District Advisor Help Desk 802-828-6887)

U.S. Internal Revenue Service Tax Information for Federal, State, and Local Governments (FSLET) irs.gov/government-entities/federal-state-local-governments

FSLET Customer Services

Customer Account Services: 877-829-5500

Technical Service Operation: 866-455-7438

Federal Tax Questions: 800-829-1040

Vermont Bond Bank  vtbondbank.org/ (802-654-7377 or  bond-bank@vtbondagency.org)

Vermont Office of Purchasing and Contracting bgs.vermont.gov/purchasing  (802-828-3519)
Vermont Procurement and Technical Assistance Center accd.vermont.gov/economic-development/programs/ptac (802-522-9135)

Labor and Workplace

Vermont Department of Labor (VDOL) Workplace Safety labor.vermont.gov/workplace-safety

VDOL Unemployment Insurance  labor.vermont.gov/unemployment-insurance

U.S. Department of Labor  Contact: Brian Cleasby, Wage and Hour Specialist (603-606-3116 or  Cleasby.Brian@dol.gov)

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) ada.gov  (Information hotline: 800-514-0301)

ADA Best Practices Tool Kit for State and Local Governments ada.gov/pcatoolkit/toolkitmain.htm 

ADA Guide for Small Towns ada.gov/smtown.htm 

Public Health and Safety

Vermont Department of Health (VDOH) healthvermont.gov

VDOH for Town Health Officers healthvermont.gov/environment/town-health-officer

Vermont Department of Public Safety (DPS) dps.vermont.gov/home 

DPS - Vermont Emergency Management vem.vermont.gov 

DPS - Division of Fire Safety firesafety.vermont.gov/staff-contact

Public Records 

Vermont State Archives and Records Administration sos.vermont.gov/vsara (802-828-3897 or sos.rim@vermont.gov)

Roads

Vermont Agency of Transportation Municipal Assistance vtrans.vermont.gov/highway/local-projects

Vermont Local Roads localroads.vermont.gov/ (802-828-3537  or vermontlocalroads@vermont.gov) 

 

Vermont Municipal Associations

Green Mountain Water Environment Association gmwea.org 

Vermont Assessors and Listers Association valavt.org  

Vermont Association of Chiefs of Police vacop.org  

Vermont Community Development Association vtcda.org 

Vermont Government Finance Officers Association vtgfoa.org 

Vermont Municipal Clerks and Treasurers’ Association vmcta.org 

Vermont Planners Association nne.planning.org/sections/vermont 

Vermont Recreation and Parks Association  vrpa.org

Vermont Town and City Management Association vtcma.org

Vermont Women Leading Government icma.org/vermont-women-leading-government