You are here

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

The VLCT Board of Directors created five legislative policy committees to develop recommendations for a legislative platform in each policy area in the ensuing session. Committee members meet with secretaries and commissioners of agencies from time to time to discuss strategy and the implementation of laws. VLCT Advocacy staff also relies upon committee members for advice and expertise on specific issues during the legislative session.

Each summer, these committees meet to draft their recommendations. The VLCT Board of Directors then reviews, amends as needed, and approves the recommendations. The entire draft municipal policy is then sent to the VLCT membership, who votes on it at the VLCT Annual Meeting in October. Members may propose further amendments to the draft policy in writing prior to the meeting or on the floor at the meeting. Each member city or town has one vote at the annual or special meeting. Upon member approval of the policy by majority vote of those present, the Board, at its next meeting, establishes municipal policy priorities from among the many adopted policy issues. Those priorities provide the focus for Advocacy staff and the Board going forward.

The Finance, Administration and Intergovernmental Relations (FAIR) Policy Committee is responsible for: governance; taxation including education funding, open meeting and public records; clerk-treasurer issues; economic development.

Click here to view the FAIR Policy.

See below for more information on the committee and related policy issues.


FAIR Committee Members

Committee Chair
Dominic Cloud
City Manager, St. Albans City

Committee Vice Chair
Eric Osgood
Selectboard Chair, Johnson Town

Ex Officio
Jared Cadwell
Selectboard Chair, Fayston Town

Herbert Durfee
Town Manager, Norwich Town

Steven Hier
Town Treasurer, Weathersfield Town

Todd Leblanc
Assessor, South Burlington City

Tammy Legacy
Town Clerk, Roxbury Town

Karen Richard
Town Clerk/Treasurer, Colchester Town

Robert Rusten
Chief Administrative Officer, Burlington City

Randy Viens
Assessor, Essex Town

Elaine Wang
Assistant Town Manager, Barre Town

Wendy Wilton
City Treasurer, Rutland City